TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:14 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
So, is there a way to port music to the retail TPAs and still play them? I tried doing it once with TPA add and it said it worked but I couldn't get the music track to play. So, if there's a certain trick to it, I'd appreciate any advice or any directions for a proper way to port in music. The guide in the FAQ board doesn't really talk about adding music to TPAs. It is somewhat helpful but I could probably use some more detailed directions regarding such if you please.

Thanks. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:16 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Um, it's been a day and nobody's replied to help me... Surely somebody other than Draco knows how to port music to the TPA. Everytime I do it, I get a crackling noise. I've made a 22050 HZ wav file with a 16- bit PCM just like it says. It doesn't work. The tutorial in the FAQ board doesn't really cover music. Just sounds. Someone please help... I want to add the music but I don't want a completely empty TPA either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:54 pm 
Offline
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 579
Location: England, UK
Do you get the same problem when you try to add normal sounds? If you do, it's likely that you're doing something wrong, rather than the file size or length being a problem.. Just trying to narrow it down a bit, might be useful. ;)

_________________

Image
AUDIO PROJECTS // AnneAudioAdventure / Anne&Hammond
RESOURCES // Music List


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:36 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Well it is a rather long track, but Draco has stuck some long music tracks in his mods' TPAs. Look at East Dock and JPDS Streams for reference and their TPAs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:27 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3399
Location: Sweden
I'm have never importet music into a TPA, what tool do you use to import the music?

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10950
Location: Lima, Peru
glitchhunter09 wrote:
Draco has stuck some long music tracks in his mods' TPAs.

Which is what you shouldn't do, really.


BTW, why don't you use Rebel's tool?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:22 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
TPAadd is the tool I've been using. Is there another one I don't know about?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:18 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3399
Location: Sweden
glitchhunter09 wrote:
TPAadd is the tool I've been using. Is there another one I don't know about?


viewtopic.php?f=58&t=8436

Better use that, much easier, and you can do a hell lot more with it.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:58 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Okay, thanks Tatu. I've downloaded it and will use it sometime in the future probably.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group