TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:00 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Moscow,Russia
So I ran into the bug with a fog staying only one color (in software mod) while playing ATX mod using Windows 10. I tried everything in ATX.config but it just doesn’t work.
I load level from the quick load menu and it’s actually normal, but when I save and load this game - fog changes to white and light effects just disappear (for example the sky in The Lab is not like orange tone for me, it’s just blue). It happened only today, before thar everything was fine.
I really need your help :c

_________________
I believe I've spent enough time in the company of death


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:03 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 2543
Location: Canada, eh?
Mof1234567890 wrote:
So I ran into the bug with a fog staying only one color (in software mod) while playing ATX mod using Windows 10. I tried everything in ATX.config but it just doesn’t work.
I load level from the quick load menu and it’s actually normal, but when I save and load this game - fog changes to white and light effects just disappear (for example the sky in The Lab is not like orange tone for me, it’s just blue). It happened only today, before thar everything was fine.
I really need your help :c

That's a bug in the Trespasser engine. The first level you load will have an incorrect fog colour, but then the NEXT level will take on the fog colour of the previous level you loaded, and so on. You can make the fog change to the correct colour on the level by ALT-TABing out of the game and them going back in. This bug is fixed in Trespasser CE. It could be fixed in ATX by using the correct .ini settings for level fog, but if I remember correctly changing the fog colour in the .ini would set it for all levels.

Just curious, why are you still using ATX instead of CE? At this point, ATX is basically deprecated if you're just playing the vanilla game. The only reason you might want to still consider using it would be to play some of the mods which were made using it and therefore haven't been patched to work with CE yet.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | Trespasser HD: Beach (Released!) / Jungle Road | TheIdiot's release thread


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:08 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11115
Location: Portland, OR
..Or you might want actual jumping dromaeosaurids ;)

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:20 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 2543
Location: Canada, eh?
Draconisaurus wrote:
..Or you might want actual jumping dromaeosaurids ;)

That too, at least until we figure out how to make the Raptors jump effectively in CE.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | Trespasser HD: Beach (Released!) / Jungle Road | TheIdiot's release thread


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:25 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Moscow,Russia
Draconisaurus wrote:
..Or you might want actual jumping dromaeosaurids ;)

Actually yes :) and randomizer
Also I kinda played with AI and night mode. Plus I already beaten the game with CE mod.

_________________
I believe I've spent enough time in the company of death


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:53 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Moscow,Russia
TheIdiot wrote:
Mof1234567890 wrote:
So I ran into the bug with a fog staying only one color (in software mod) while playing ATX mod using Windows 10. I tried everything in ATX.config but it just doesn’t work.
I load level from the quick load menu and it’s actually normal, but when I save and load this game - fog changes to white and light effects just disappear (for example the sky in The Lab is not like orange tone for me, it’s just blue). It happened only today, before thar everything was fine.
I really need your help :c

That's a bug in the Trespasser engine. The first level you load will have an incorrect fog colour, but then the NEXT level will take on the fog colour of the previous level you loaded, and so on. You can make the fog change to the correct colour on the level by ALT-TABing out of the game and them going back in. This bug is fixed in Trespasser CE. It could be fixed in ATX by using the correct .ini settings for level fog, but if I remember correctly changing the fog colour in the .ini would set it for all levels.

Just curious, why are you still using ATX instead of CE? At this point, ATX is basically deprecated if you're just playing the vanilla game. The only reason you might want to still consider using it would be to play some of the mods which were made using it and therefore haven't been patched to work with CE yet.


Why ATX mod now without updates? What happened to the Big Red? Because ATX have some interesting scripts like randomizer or raptors allowed in buildings, difficulty level etc. None of it available in CE, sadly. I wanted a new experience.

_________________
I believe I've spent enough time in the company of death


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:59 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3333
Location: Sweden
Big Red is too busy to work on ATX, and CE is much superior.

Raptors allowed in buildings can be done with some basic level modification. Same as difficult level.
As for randomiser. It depends on external files and that itself required someone to make them. It is a nice function but sadly there wasn't much fan made ones released for it.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:02 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Moscow,Russia
tatu wrote:
Big Red is too busy to work on ATX, and CE is much superior.

Raptors allowed in buildings can be done with some basic level modification. Same as difficult level.
As for randomiser. It depends on external files and that itself required someone to make them. It is a nice function but sadly there wasn't much fan made ones released for it.


Huh wish I knew how to make such modification. But again I just don’t know how to do it, so this is why I using ATX mod :?

_________________
I believe I've spent enough time in the company of death


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:05 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Moscow,Russia
TheIdiot wrote:
Mof1234567890 wrote:
So I ran into the bug with a fog staying only one color (in software mod) while playing ATX mod using Windows 10. I tried everything in ATX.config but it just doesn’t work.
I load level from the quick load menu and it’s actually normal, but when I save and load this game - fog changes to white and light effects just disappear (for example the sky in The Lab is not like orange tone for me, it’s just blue). It happened only today, before thar everything was fine.
I really need your help :c

That's a bug in the Trespasser engine. The first level you load will have an incorrect fog colour, but then the NEXT level will take on the fog colour of the previous level you loaded, and so on. You can make the fog change to the correct colour on the level by ALT-TABing out of the game and them going back in. This bug is fixed in Trespasser CE. It could be fixed in ATX by using the correct .ini settings for level fog, but if I remember correctly changing the fog colour in the .ini would set it for all levels.

Just curious, why are you still using ATX instead of CE? At this point, ATX is basically deprecated if you're just playing the vanilla game. The only reason you might want to still consider using it would be to play some of the mods which were made using it and therefore haven't been patched to work with CE yet.


And your advice doesn’t help - it is still the same problem, even when I ALT+TABing out of the game. And it only happens when I loading my save on EVERY level. When restarting - it’s okay.
Well, I guess it’s my bad luck

_________________
I believe I've spent enough time in the company of death


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:46 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11115
Location: Portland, OR
ATX is still cool. I keep it around for mods designed for it which haven't been converted over to CE. That and I like true software mode sometimes..

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 5:52 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4841
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
I won't dispute how CE has improved tres in many ways, but what Big Red was able to do without
the s ource code was nothing short of amazing. I'd go so far as saying atx helped keep the game
alive at the time -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:09 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11115
Location: Portland, OR
Definitely

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:24 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10880
Location: Lima, Peru
Indeed.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fog bug in ATX
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:09 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 2543
Location: Canada, eh?
Quite.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | Trespasser HD: Beach (Released!) / Jungle Road | TheIdiot's release thread


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group