TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 4
Does anyone else here play the full trespasser game using the demo engine and no CD ? I've be searching a bit here and am finding no references to that here. Hope I'm not violating any protocols by bringing this up here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3387
Location: Sweden
Hi and welcome!

It has been very common to play the game using the demo engine. It is really popular to use a modified demo engine - using for example the ATX or CE patch to play mods on. :)

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:59 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10944
Location: Lima, Peru
Definitely. It's what I'm doing right now. Makes it portable, too.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:20 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11256
Location: Portland, OR
Vitally, the only thing absolutely needed from the retail CD is the 3 main audio files (all TPAs in the \data folder except "menu.tpa"). It's even possible to get Tres CE to work as a portable demo-based engine, though I'm only successful in making the conversion about 20% of the time.

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:12 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3387
Location: Sweden
Draconisaurus wrote:
It's even possible to get Tres CE to work as a portable demo-based engine, though I'm only successful in making the conversion about 20% of the time.


All you need for that is the Tpass.ini file from the demo :P

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:20 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks for all the replies. I've done this for many years now. Didn't know there were so many mods and patches though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:40 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 4
I have a question for the tech guys. On occasion I've had trespasser on the demo engine just go blank screen. I know its still running though because ESC will give you the load screen. And other keys if hit will bring up stuff. Is this a video hardware problem ? Because neither primary or the software drivers will fix this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:26 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11256
Location: Portland, OR
Not entirely following but it sounds like you might be trying to load a level which isn't there.. 'Specially if there is a little grey triangle off to the side.

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 12:55 am 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:21 pm
Posts: 4
Is it possible the level is not there even with being listed ? You might be right. Sure takes enough time loading nothing ;-)
I hear game sounds so something loaded.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:19 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3387
Location: Sweden
Possibly hardware issue, but never heard of it doing it like that, usually it crashes the game.
If you hear sound then a level is loaded. If the level is not there but only the .scn file, it usually loads in a second into a black screen.
Could you tell what the name of the level is that does this error?

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group