TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
hello, kinda weird qoustion, but i am at a loss here.

I am trying to create some buildings from Trespasser in UE4, but i cant for the life of me figure out what the textures inside some of the buildings are supposed to be.

One of em are the hallways inside the Cray Computer building, the white walls with the gray line, are they concrete, some kind of white wallpaper with a gray line painted on or is it som kind of railing (kinda like these http://images.r.cruisecritic.com/featur ... aship2.jpg but cant imagine why it would be in that building).

And what are the Red stuff Hammonds mansion is built out of? as a i said, weird qoustions, but i cant seem to wrap my brain around it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:38 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4760
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Hia. In my opinion, it's high grade, mold resistant drywall like you see in a hospital. Hammond's mansion I'd guess would be stucco? I never really looked at the textures that closely, but if you export them that ought to give you a better idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:24 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks, now i know what to google to get refrence pictures, didnt even know "drywall" was a type of wall material (English not beeing my native tounge theres alot of technical jargen i am not familiar with).

and stucco sounds right. Thanks alot for the help :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:45 am 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
I cant extract files on the PC i am currently working with at the moment, but is the floor in the "meeting rooms" the kinda plastic floor many labs have, or blue carpet since its a meeting room thingy?

Plastic:
Image

Carpet:
Image

Since i am just getting the feel of the place ive not added any dirt or anything, want to get shit right before i put in the weathing work (which i am not looking forward to since i suck at Photoshop :P )


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:04 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3220
Location: Sweden
I would go with the carpet. That plastic blue looks really weird. It looks more like it is full of water. :c

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:46 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
Yeah, non of the textures are anywhere near done, its just placeholders, and I kinda agree, as a conference room the carpet look better, or if i would take a artistic freedom some kind of wooden floor.


[Edit] jesus i hate the stairs part of the building, i guess i am swearing in church by saying this, but i never liked the way the stairs was in the game. they felt cramped and steep for a old man like Hammond to run up and down, so trying to make em more... spared no expense i guess is the right way to say it. But making it fit and work is testing my paciance...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:40 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eq7ywKm ... e=youtu.be


does the size (length of the building) seem right?

(I am using ResearchIndicates youtube lets play to look for refrences, so since i dont get a real feel of the size by playing myself i am kinda shooting in the dark)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:35 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 2217
Location: Canada, eh?
That looks pretty good! The size seems about right. You might want to export the model via TresEd and measure its dimensions in Max if you want to be sure though. I think that perhaps the floor textures are a bit too shiny though, they don't look very worn-down like they do in Tres.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | Trespasser HD: Beach (Released!) / Jungle Road | TheIdiot's release thread


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3220
Location: Sweden
Personally I wouldn't care too much to fit the length of the original Trespasser building. From what I experience it seems like a lot of times a lot of the buildings are build without any specific measurements. This can clearly be seen with the Plantation House (the non-main parts) and Hammond's House, where the doors are like 3-4 bigger than Anne and looks really weird.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:29 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
Hmm i got a problem, was going to go through the "Village" level to go over some of the designs and furniture in that level. But i cant seem to fin it with TresEd.
I am aware i got to open the level in Trespasser the game for the file to pop up, but it wont show in the Trespasser folder. I just got the start area and the Lab level there.

What am i doing wrong?

[edit] solved it, had to open it with the standard EXE and not a ATX exe, my bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:04 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
Image

slow progress, made the toilet larger, so theres some deadspace besides the Offices on the rightside, guess il just camuflage that "room" with an elecritian and fuze room door...

The "stuff" on the walls are railings, the kind thats in hospitals, I just interpeted the gray lines in the textures in the building as those things. Hammond had a cane after all :P

Every room is one model to make texturing easier.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 10666
Location: Portland, OR
This building looks very interesting... What are your plans for it?

_________________
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:36 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:08 pm
Posts: 27
Dont realy have any plans, I wanted to learn to create indoor envirements in 3d for games, so i most likely just create everything in the building with props and textures. Then upload it to a server and just let people use em for what they want.

I cant program for shait so i cant realy create any AI or anything for enemies. But since i LOVE Trespasser and the feeling that game gives me, i wanted to see what it would look like in a modern game engine (I am using UE4 for the game part, but every model is FBX that every engine i know of use for Static Meshes)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:49 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 10666
Location: Portland, OR
Interesting.. What format do you plan to release it in? If you can export in 3DS format, we could put it in Trespasser.

_________________
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:27 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3220
Location: Sweden
What software are you using to create the model? 3ds Max? If possible I would avoid the .3ds format as it doesn't store longer texture names and I just find it more messy. If using 3ds Max, the TPM export/importer is better.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group