JP: Dark Secrets - Old Thread (updates Dec. 04 - March 07)

Released! - Discuss progress and updates on the biggest Trespasser level endeavor ever, JPDS - a dark Tres mod by Draco and co.

Moderators: scallenger, JPDS Team

Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Antispam: No

JP: Dark Secrets - Old Thread (updates Dec. 04 - March 07)

Post by Draconisaurus »

Hey everyone! :) I'm new to this stuff (though I'm a huge JP fan), however I'm not new to 3D graphics and I've been doing 3D stuff for over 2 years now in 3ds MAX (now ver. 5). Usually I make Star Trek models, sometimes a Stargate model or two (as well as animations with them) but in the last few months I've been doing lots of other stuff including some JP things. A few days ago, my friend JPXTom and I were talking about this game JP Trespasser and we decided that we should make our own version like others do. After careful thought I came up with a plot having to do mainly with the Embryonics Administration from JP/// and the origins of the Spino, and Tom coined the name "Jurassic Park: Dark Secrets". We know it'll take a while as much of this is new to both of us, but we'll do what we need to to make it an awesome game. (Also I am a computer programmer so hopefully my skills there will come in handy as well)

First on the agenda (for me anyway) is modeling the Spinosaurus himself. I've never made a model in tris before (usually work in quads) so it's very interesting to see how it works, though I'm learning it's not that hard. Also my experience until recently has mostly been with ships and things (inanimate), so organic modeling is fun to work with, and a lot less exacting. I've been modeling Spiny ontop of an orthographic reference I found and here is progress on him so far: