TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:30 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dino STuff
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:18 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4790
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Was anyone aware that you can give raptors, feet?

string LeftFoot = "$Foot" (named dummy $model)
string Foot = "$Foot2" (named dummy $model)

(string foot is rightfoot default, so string rightfoot = nothing)


Doing so don't help 'em jump, but I did find it interesting. If you turn on bones, there appears to be boxes already assigned to each foot, though if you notice how often a raptor's foot gets stuck and disappears into an object, I tend to believe that the default feet are not truly tangible even though the bones cheat renders them to be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 10:55 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:17 am
Posts: 2096
Location: Germany
so what does this mean for us? is it possible to make the raptors NOT get stuck in boxes anymore?

_________________
My Recent Projects:
Ilscipio - eCommerce, anyone? :)
Paul-Piper.de - For whoever really wants to know stuff about me
Scipio ERP - A modern business software
Browseo - a nifty seo tool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:28 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4790
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Nah, the idiots still get stuck. Without being able to jump, they still attempt to walk thru an object instead of up n' over it. Other than being able to shoot them in the foot and cause blood and damage, there doesn't appear to be any benefit at all. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 9:06 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 8:35 pm
Posts: 113
Interesting. When investigating the SCN I discovered that there were "LFoot+RaptorB" and "RFoot+RaptorB" objects, it didn't occur to me that you could set them in the script. I guess "LFoot" is a built-in (default) model for LeftFoot, used if you don't set LeftFoot in the TScript.

Rebel, what did you mean about RightFoot? That you can't set it, but must set Foot instead?

(The .exe contains the following strings: "Anne-Foot", "RightRearFoot", "LeftRearFoot", "RightFoot", "LeftFoot", "Foot", "LFoot", "RFoot")


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 9:14 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4790
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Andres wrote:
IRebel, what did you mean about RightFoot? That you can't set it, but must set Foot instead?

(The .exe contains the following strings: "Anne-Foot", "RightRearFoot", "LeftRearFoot", "RightFoot", "LeftFoot", "Foot", "LFoot", "RFoot")


Precisely. By default 'Foot' = RFoot, or so it seems. 'LFoot' is valid, though using RFoot, the $Model was abandoned by the raptor, staying at it's static position while the raptor moved along. I still don't quite understand why these values are there, why they weren't used and other than giving the raptor's a bloody foot, is there any other benefit?

*Enlighten me a little here, please. Where are the raptor's feet ($models) that you see with the bones cheat on coming from? How are they being assigned...?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 9:29 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 8:35 pm
Posts: 113
Well I assume that when you set LeftFoot = "$Foot", then $Foot was used as the raptor's foot (see with bones cheat). And so because I noticed a "LFoot" object in the SCN, even though there is none in the grf, I am assuming that the .exe has default foot objects built in. (I'm not sure how the position of those default feet is set.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 9:39 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4790
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Well, I'm going to assume that although a trifle interesting, adding additional $models as feet has little benefit. When I first stumbled upon it, I dared hope it would have solved the 'I can't jump' 'cause I'm a gravity-challenged raptor, but that didn't happen....

:(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group