TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:50 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
List of play animations:

Once you walk inside Venture hull hole and near door, the ceiling should collapse. (right now, parts are intangible since I use that hole to still exit ship until we get cargo dr puzzle in place)

Cargo doors of venture open and close. trigger is near left side of railings as test setup.

seagull should fly past you at stern of boat while thunder booms above and music begins to play.

one valve in second corridor of ship will spin as steam is released.

duct work cover flips down.

water rises in engine room.

crater doors slide open.

Bridge of Venture sways while inside pilot house.

If you run up to catch the footsteps coming from below pilot house, you should hear the hatch slam shut, footsteps running away and the hatch wheel being turned is visible if you get up there in time.


*I don't have an AMD Processor, so it is possible (though unlikely) that the K6 trespass exe isn't capable of handling play animations. I don't know. If that is indeed the case, if you don't have a Pent. you'll need the demo to play this level properly --

What I'd like is for everyone here to state whether or not these animations worked on their machine, give trespass exe type used by game.

Get anim (asa) folder here

For anyone having problems, please delete all asa or asb files that you may have inside the data folder. Place the downloaded anim folder inside the data folder. When the level loads, the exe should generate the asb files, placing them inside the data folder.

I'm using the Pentium Pro Build and these work fine for me (obviously, these work inside the demo)


Last edited by Rebel on Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:03 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
In the full version, none of these work for me. They don't work in the demo either, and at the triggers where the animation is suspossed to go off, there is a loud/soft BEEP.

I'm using a Pent. 3, 1GHZ machine Reb. I've never had much of a prob with Tres.

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:13 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
If they work in my copy of the demo, it stands to reason that they'd work in anyone's copy of the demo. You've got to be placing these files in the wrong location, that's the only explanation.

The anim folder and the asb files they generate should be right with the grf, scn, pid files and so on. There's no logical reason why they wouldn't work. Try again, please.....

*those beeps are missing audio -- nothing to do with the animations*

*This may not matter either, but use TresCopy to create a TresCom.exe file inside the demo. It's possible that the generated asb files are exe file sensitive and need to be excessed with the TresCom.exe and not the original Trespass.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:34 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
Just tryed everything again. No luck. I'll plug at it for awhile.

All flies and folders are where they should be. Maybe if I remove the asa files from the folder...

Tried the TresCom.exe... nothing. AGH!

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:38 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Dunno. I'm at a loss to explain why something works on my end and doesn't work on yours. There has to be a logical reason for it, I guess we'll have to figure out what that is. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:00 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
Alright boss, just ran through all the exe files.

Demo trespass
TresCom Demo Creation
Full exe
Full creation
tpass5
tpass6

Not one worked

I kept the asa files in the anim folder, and put them out with the rest.

I have no clue. I'm gonna take a break and grab a sandwich.

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:07 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
Are you using any patches Reb? That would possibaly explain the full version probs, but not the demo... unless you have a patch for it too.

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:13 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
No, phuck those patches, I don't use 'em. I just ran down my sister's house and checked out the demo (she doesn't have the retail) and it 'works' on her computer as well. When Andres originally found this, I made the mistake of placing these files right alongside of the trespass. exe instead of actually inside the data folder. Of course, the play animation didn't work there....

Download below, follow instructions:

http://www.geocities.com/lastrebel41/asb.ZIP

(right click n' save)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:36 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
It works. We're in business Mr. Hammond.

Just one more question, how do i get the TresCom.tpa file to work?

Thanks Reb.

BTW I think I know what caused mine and Remdul's to mess up. I could've been because we got the second upload (Paul's upload) instead of yours. I think that may be the reason.

Thanks again pa. :)

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:41 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
So, you think they were 'damaged files', missing bytes or something or other? I'll buy that explanation since I haven't any of my own. :P

TresCom.tpa works by using the TresCopy utility to create a TresCom.exe file. That changes the internal stream.tpa listing to trescom.tpa listing, sharing the same name as the newly created exe.

I'm glad you got it working, 'cause I was out of ideas here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:46 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
Probably missing bytes... or the fact it was a copy. Thanks again Reb, I'm off to play this thing... without flaws.

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:48 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Thank you, for helping us sort the problem out.... I was starting to doubt my sanity. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:27 pm 
Offline
-=Alpha Wolf=-
-=Alpha Wolf=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:45 pm
Posts: 149
Location: The Mts. of VA
I got to the large undergound pool with the underwater tunnel out. How do I drain the water so I can continue?

_________________
~TresCom Ops: Public Relations, Beta Tester
~TresCity: Webmaster (Updated 6-21-04)
~TresNovel: Author

Woah man, woah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:44 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4806
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Well, you don't. When in place, you'd have to find an scuba airtank (don't have that just yet) and jump into the deep water area with it and that'd send you off to tc~river. The premise is, that tunnel, or lava tube, whatever you feel like calling it, travels just beneath the ocean and not to far off lies another Island. You'll reach its end, break the surface of a pool and find yourself on tc~river's Island.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group