TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:32 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:19 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
Yes, you heard me.. ;)


It took about 10 minutes to prepare the level!

The first thing I did was to look for any bumpmapped object. Then I exported them all with tresed, and simply reimported them with geomadd. Voila! No slowdown!!

_________________
Image


Last edited by IsToR on Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:23 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
GREAT WORK ISTOR!! :D I'm so "hacker" illiterate, you'll have to tell me exactly how you did it. Please, talk to me as if I were a 3 year old.. :)

This is really great news!! :lol:

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:25 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Does this have any implications for play in Windows?

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:37 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
hmm.. ok... btw do you have icq or msn messenger?

All of the bumpmapped objects in trespasser are software rendered.. you know.. crates, dinos, golden bars, girders... Any other model, that is not software rendered, is not bumpmapped either...

You have probably read that tresed does not import bumpmaps.. ?
Well, I figured, if I export a bumpmapped object and reimport, the bumpmaps would disappear.. thus making the object un-bumpmapped :).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:39 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
I don't know if the bumpmaps themselves have anything to do with the slowdown.. I think it's more because the bumpmapped objects are software rendered.... But I wonder why they are software rendered.... :?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:52 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
Anyway... enough rambling... now to the point:

I assume you know how to open a level in tresed ;)...

1. Open the level you wish to edit.

2.. Look for any object that is bumpmapped... It's kind of hard to see in tresed, because they're not software rendered.. but if you play the level and look at the objects, it's easier to see. In the demo level, all the bumpmapped objects are following: Oil barrels, Dinos, Guns.

3. Export all the bumpmapped objects. Just select the object you wish to export, and go to 'file' -> 'export selection to 3ds'. With dinos, you have to export as .tpm, otherwise it won't work. Remember that you have to find the "first" object (the -00 object, or the one without a number) eg. "Barrel-00" or "Barrel". They are usually located in the basement, far away from the playing area...

Here's a list of all the objects in the demo level, that you need to export and reimport:
NOTE! Before exporting an object, a dialog box appears. Remember to untick the "center object around 0,0,0 .. blah blah.. " option, because otherwise the guns won't work..
In this case, make sure that you only select the visible model and not any sub-objects. ('visibility' -> Normal objects, should be the only option ticked before you select an object that you want to export). Also, when exporting to .3ds, only export one object at a time!!!

*to find an object, goto 'edit' -> 'find and replace'

Dinos: (Remember to export dinos as .tpm, NOT .3ds)
*RaptorB
*RaptorC
*There are 4 other raptors close to RaptorB and RaptorC.
Select all 4 of them and export them as a single .tpm file.
*TRex_Alpha_A

Guns: Export them to .3ds (select a gun, then 'file'->'export selection as .3ds')
VERY IMPORTANT! Untick the option that I mentioned above, if already not unticked (center objects around 0,0,0......).
*PHuntingRifle-00
*PM14Rifle-00
*PMac10-00
*PSpasFrame03-00
*PS&W686-00

Other objects: (export to .3ds)
*PblFuelBarrel00-00
*PblFuelBarrel01-00

I guess all the objects could be exported as one single .tpm file. I'm gonna try that later...
Well that's all to the exporting... It's easier to import them back, if you export them all to the same directory.. Also, if tresed/geomadd asks if you want to replace any textures during export/import, it doesn't really matter if you choose yes or no, because it's the same texutre anyway.. I usually choose yes though.

4. Close the level ('file' -> 'close'), and open GeomAdd. "Import directory". Select the .scn file that you wish to import the models to (demo.scn). Press 'open'. Then browse to the directory where your models are, and choose any one of them. Press OK (or whatever.. the one that does not say cancel! ;)). Then a dialog box should appear.. Make sure that all the "replace existing. blah blah" and "when replacing objects, use the stored.. .blah.." are ticked. Press OK.

That should do it.





....What are you waiting for?? Go shoot some dinos!! ;) :D

_________________
Image


Last edited by IsToR on Mon Dec 15, 2003 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 9:21 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
Dapper Dan wrote:
Does this have any implications for play in Windows?

don't know... maybe

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:14 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
IsToR , I've been really sick, (flu maybe..) but as soon as I'm better I intend to try this out. I presume you did all this with TresEd and GeomAdd in Linux? I have no Windows partitions anymore..

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 6:47 am 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
Dapper Dan wrote:
I presume you did all this with TresEd and GeomAdd in Linux?

No, but they do work in linux.. I've tried them both.. Well at least I couldn't find any bugs....

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 8:44 am 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
hey I know.. you don't have icq or msn!! you have Licq and gaim! :mrgreen:

BTW, have you tried amsn? It's exactly like msn messenger (before it became this ugly monstrosity that it is today), but it's better.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:13 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Actually I'm completely in the dark about all this. This is instant messaging? I've never tried it in Windows or Linux. How does it work?

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:00 pm 
Offline
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:27 am
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden
Well it's kind of like an internet chat, you know, but you talk to one person at a time. You can add ppl to your contact list, and then you can see if they are online or offline.. heh.. :)

very brief explanation.. :)



[EDIT] I accedentally put IMG tags instead of URL... hehe.. [/EDIT]
btw.. which dude is you?
http://www.roughdogs.com/dogs/wzla.htm

_________________
Image


Last edited by IsToR on Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:41 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Huh?

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group