TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:41 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:11 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 2058
Location: Ontario, Canada
First I would like to say that TC Isle is the best "Trespasser level" I ever played. (Would consider it more of an entirely new game, since it is made with the demo engine.)

Now with the errors:

#1. Eversince I installed the 2 patches for it there is an error wen I get close to the down bomber.

#2. Down the elevator (in the tunels), there is a part where there is a pack of TNT and each time I go close to it the game freezes. (Not shure if it's the patches that are the problem though, because I never got to that part before the patches.)

#3. When I puch the button to go up the elevator, it does the same thing as #2.

#4. When I try to go in the second entrance on the left in the caves, it does the same thing as #2 and #3.

Now for the dislikes of the level:

#1. The Sniper, I dont like the zoom thing. Hate it :x , you can't see anything around you with that! I like better the sniper from NPC and Lost Jungle.

#2. The cards where you're suppost to get the Hammond's number to use it as a code is unreadable.

Exept for those and the errors I would say TC Isle is perfect!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:13 pm
Posts: 2087
Nick3069 wrote:
Now with the errors:

#1. Eversince I installed the 2 patches for it there is an error wen I get close to the down bomber.

#2. Down the elevator (in the tunels), there is a part where there is a pack of TNT and each time I go close to it the game freezes. (Not shure if it's the patches that are the problem though, because I never got to that part before the patches.)

#3. When I puch the button to go up the elevator, it does the same thing as #2.

#4. When I try to go in the second entrance on the left in the caves, it does the same thing as #2 and #3.


If I am correct (I am sure I am correct for the first error), there is a single solution to all these problems. You have to make sure you are running the game in Hardware mode, not Software mod (two different rendering systems). Basically, the rendering system that Trespasser comes with can't handle 24-bit textures (used more than once in Tc Isle to say the least) too well, and can't handle 16-bit transparent textures at all (again, used more than once in Tc Isle).

To fix this problem, simply load up the game. At the Main Menu, click on Options, then click on Video. Once you come here, you'll look up at the top of the menu, where it says Select New Video Driver; click on that. Finally, when the new menu comes up, bring down the drop down menu, and select Primary Display Driver. Bring down a second drop down menu, and select the textures to be on High. This works differently with different computer, but what I would suggest is to only select, in the check boxes, Page Manager and Hardware Water. These work best on my graphics card. Finally, press Ok.

There is a glitch at my grandmother's house in which the above method doesn't work. The reason for that is, that if I try to change the video driver, for some reason I simply load back up the main menu, which any ajustments. Anyways, if you are having that problem, you are going to have to edit the Tpass.ini directly. Instead of explaining it all to you, simply copy paste this into that little text file:

Code:
[Settings]
Safemode=0
Auto Settings=1
RenderQuality=4
Std Console=1
Physics Stats=1
Hardware.txt=1
DWI Trespasser FINDER=1
D3D GUID=E03DE684AA46CF11816F0000C020156EAA
Width=800
Height=600
AutoLoad Temp=0
XView=2
YView=2
Registry Init=1
Max Recommended Tex Dim=128
Use D3D=1
GUIAPP=1
Video GUID=0000000000000000000000000000000000
D3D GUID=E03DE684AA46CF11816F0000C020156EAA
Video Driver=Primary Display Driver (display)
Z Buffer Bitdepth=16
Hardware Water=1
Page Managed=1
Triple Buffer=0
Dither=0
PlaySFX=-1
PlayAmbient=-1
PlayVoiceOver=-1
PlayMusic=-1
UseSubTitles=0
AudioEnable3D=0
DDrawCertIgnore=1
Gamma=0


Quote:
#1. The Sniper, I dont like the zoom thing. Hate it Mad , you can't see anything around you with that!


Lol. I doesn't exactly matter, because there are no dinosaur up there. I didn't use the sniper for anything, but I guess you could take it down, and test it on that lone Dilo just down the hill. Would make good target practice. There is something you have to learn about us here at TresCom. Anything new is exciting for us. We love these little thing that the normal Trespasser didn't have. Anything revolution is accepted her (we are all just a bunch of rebels).

Quote:
#2. The cards where you're suppost to get the Hammond's number to use it as a code is unreadable.


This problem will be solved if you follow the steps I mention above.

Quote:
Exept for those and the errors I would say TC Isle is perfect!


You said it. Give the guys up at TresCom Ops a round of applause.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:43 am 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 2058
Location: Ontario, Canada
Thanks alot, chronzerg, all of the bugs are fixed now! :D Plus, for some reson the graphics are better. :o Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:47 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10852
Location: Lima, Peru
It's the other way around, actually - the graphics are better, since you switched from software to hardware rendering mode. Plus, the bugs are gone now. ;)

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:47 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Portland, OR
Heheh that's cool you liked the level. Currently TresCom's crown jewel acheivement. *points to sig* ;)
As for why it didn't happen until after you installed the patch - here's what really happened. When you first install TC Isle, something in the installer automatically puts the game into hardware mode if you choose the "play now" option after installing. I'm not sure why but if you ever load the game after that, it will be in software mode instead unless you change it back. Somehow it didn't keep the hardware mode value. So you would have needed to change it yourself even if you installed no patches (where are these patches, I don't have any of them ;_;). It's a fairly confusing thing to many, I'll agree... I've met people who didn't even realize the graphics changed when they played it a second time. o_O

That is odd that it was harder to read the card in software mode.. hardware mode has this thing where it smooths all the pixels out. It's usually easier to read things in software mode.

As for the sniper, I'm glad you liked the NPC/LJ edition! :D I'm rather fond of it too, especially since by pure chance the scope actually works. ;) The TC sniper rifle is still cool, it's in JPDS - what needs to be fixed is the FOV (Field of View) settings when you zoom out. I beliefe machf said it should go to 75 instead of 90 (machf please lemme know if this is wrong). Other than that.. trust me, there's a dino up there. ;) It is not there until you go up a certain set of stairs which you need to in order to open the elevator, then a trigger teleports it. You can also use the rifle to make a certain object in the crater go "boom". ;)

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:51 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10852
Location: Lima, Peru
Yep, it's definitely 75 instead of 90.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:51 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:13 pm
Posts: 2087
Could you explain to me how you got the sniper rifle to do what it does in TC Isle. And also, are you saying you have a way to control when you use the scope and when you don't?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:57 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4709
Location: Atlanta
chronzerg wrote:
Could you explain to me how you got the sniper rifle to do what it does in TC Isle. And also, are you saying you have a way to control when you use the scope and when you don't?


Two scripts: Trig_ZoomIn-00 & Trig_ZoomOut-00

Basically, the action_type you're looking for is this:

group Action01 = {
int ActionType = 6
float CameraFOV = 20.000000
}

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:55 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10852
Location: Lima, Peru
chronzerg wrote:
And also, are you saying you have a way to control when you use the scope and when you don't?


I wish...
Currently, the zoom works when you pick up/get the weapon, and it zooms back out when you drop/holster it. I suppose you could make it zoom in when you use (fire) it instead, but, aside from that, there's not much that can be done to control it...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Portland, OR
Well just to clarify, technically you can use any type of trigger to change the FOV setting. The problem is that we can't yet assign it to a keystroke like you do for zooming in other games. Big Red could possibly remedy that some day.. *will be several days at least before he reads this* You know it would be interesting if BR could create a new class of object which monitors a specified key, and the actions listed for that trigger would be used whenever that key is hit...

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:11 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4709
Location: Atlanta
Draconisaurus wrote:
You know it would be interesting if BR could create a new class of object which monitors a specified key, and the actions listed for that trigger would be used whenever that key is hit...


I still say that there has to be some latent functions buried in the source that monitor keystrokes.

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:57 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:13 pm
Posts: 2087
Do you guys ever feel like we are taking Trespasser too far?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:59 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10852
Location: Lima, Peru
Where would be the fun otherwise?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:51 pm 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 9:28 pm
Posts: 2310
I wouldn't think there's such thing as too far. Besides the fun is in the problem solving and creating effects or such using the limited resources but figuring out ways to get them to look good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:32 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11018
Location: Portland, OR
Lol well I'll tell you, with Crysis coming out and preparing to join Trespassing next year, I wonder to myself why exactly it is I and other stubborn modders continue to use Trespasser. I do believe one of the most immediate answers is that Trespasser is really the only game you can go into and create instant, working Dinosaur AI with a few simple scripts. I don't think that's found anywhere else and it proves we're all true JP fans. ;) Another reason may simply be the editor we have at our disposal.. despite some people's discontent with it. :P

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group