Connecting to a remote computer via the Internet

Discuss Programming / Linux questions.

Moderators: scallenger, Sky, TresCom Support Team

Dapper Dan
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-

Connecting to a remote computer via the Internet

Post by Dapper Dan »

Hi guys. I've never done this before, even with Windows. I'm trying to figure out how to access my work computer from my home computer via the internet. The info I can find on the net is, (for me) confusing at best! Anyway, please have a look and see if I'm on the right track here.

I think the way to do this is using Openssh, with the software from Openssh client on my home computer and Openssh Server software on the computer at work which I've already done. From my home computer I go into shell and type:

ssh username@MyworkISP.net

At this point, it asks for a password. when I type it in, the ISP throws up a welcome and a bunch of their rules and regulations. This is how far I've gotten. From here, how do I then access my work computer and it's files? Am I on the right track here, or am I way off base? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Troodon

Post by Troodon »

ssh, a more secure replacement for telnet, is what you would use in console mode. Your work computer runs xdm (X display manager) so you can also access it in graphics mode if you run an X-server on your home computer. You need to have certain ports open in your firewall(s).

I use ssh like this: on my "home" machine I open a terminal window and type: ssh -l <username> <dest machine>. Once you're in you can run programs in console mode (e.g, elm for email, emacs for text editing, etc.).

To log in in graphics mode your work computer must be running X-Window. Your "home" computer must also run an X-server, that is, a program that can display unix/linux graphics. If your home machine is also on Linux than you already have one; if you're on Windows then you'll need the MicroImages X-Server (used to be available free of charge).