TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: X Free
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:27 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
Um sorta a dumb question but where do i get it from for my nvidia card?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:20 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10789
Location: Lima, Peru
Either from the NVidia site or from http://www.xfree.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:11 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
hmmm. it says i need to install binutils.

where do i get binutils ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:04 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Lou, you already have Xfree if you have Morphix. Are you needing to install the Nvidia drivers?

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:07 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
Ya i need the nvidia drives..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:18 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
First, download the Nvidia "drivers" from their site. Here's an excerpt from a post on linuxquestions.org on how to get it going for you. :)

Quote:
You'll have to edit your /etc/inittab file. Become root and type "gedit", without the quoteations and press enter.

click "open", and in the left hand pane, double click the "../ " 2 times.

In the left hand pane, scroll down to /etc and double click it.

look for "inittab" in the right pane, and double click it. gedit will then open the inittab file.

look for the line..

id:5:initdefault:

edit this line and change the "5" to a "3"

save, exit and reboot the computer.

This time, your "user manager thingie" will not come up for you to enter your name and password because you will now not be in X windows. You will have to enter your username and password at the command line to become root. Then go:

chmod 777 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run [enter]

Then:

./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run [enter]

..and follow the instructions.

After completion, and at the command prompt, type "startx" and press enter. This will start X and will put you back in runlevel 5.

log in as usual, and return to gedit as above. Go back to /etc/inittab and change the "3" back to a "5". Also while in gedit, find and open /etc/X11/XF86Config-4, and look for a line under...

Section "Device"

and where you see "nv", change it to "nvidia" (this time only, with the quotes just as you see them)

save this file, exit out of gedit, reboot, and everything should work as before except your new updated Nvidia module willl be installed. If it is installed properly, from here on out all you will have to do is update your drivers which is very easy. Just become root (and if you're online) type:

nvidia-installer --update

That's it!

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:54 am 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
errrtt!!! wait a sec when i start the install is says that i need binutils to be installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:18 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Never run into that, I guess it's a Debian thing. Can you install it with apt-get?

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 6:51 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
umm ok well not shure on how exaclty to use apt-get but i downloaded it.
I have unpacked it and now im not shure what to do. im gunna test some stuff and hopfully i get luckey lol.

[EDIT]: i think i downloaded somthing for windows gunna try again.[EDIT]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 7:01 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
LOL i found the right binutls, guess where.

lol debian.org and its a debian package.

but um how do i open it....

already tryed ./ and sh

do i use dpkg or is that for making debian packages?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 12:45 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
Lou, you're such a wiz kid at Linux I can't believe you haven't figure out apt-get with Synaptic yet! :wink:

Look in your menu for "Synaptic"

Open it, update it, and then type:

binutls

in the search window in the upper right hand corner. You should be able to figure out how to install it after that. Let me know if you can't get it installed.

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:09 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
oi its that easy... man i feel like such a dummy. :(

ok im just about to run it. wish me luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:42 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
Is this a good Linux newbie site? Here

Oh ya and when i go through the install for my video card drivers is says that i have xserver started and that i need to shut it off. Im not quit shure what that is.. is it sorta like xwindows?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:48 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Elder=-
-=TresCom Elder=-
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:43 am
Posts: 2009
Location: The Sovereign State of South Carolina
That site looks ok.

Lou, you did you edit your /etc/inittab to tell it to remain in run level 3 after rebooting like what's above? In runlevel 3 you are not in x windows which is how you need to be when trying to install the nvidia drivers. Follow the directions above, and you will be able to install them..

_________________
"I have discovered an ancient tribe of those who still hold a candle for this dead, and forgotten Videonic Gamen... the Forgotten people."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:18 pm
Posts: 983
in "inittab" i changed

id:2:initdefault:

to

id:3:initdefault:

is that right?


Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
#Option "sw_cursor"
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
Identifier "Card0"
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "All"
BoardName "All"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

uh i dont see"nv" anywhere in there...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group